404 Cultural & Historical Attraction | Sapphire Voyages
+94 11 4848466 info@exotic-sapphire.com

Cultural & Historical Attraction


  • Sigiriya Rock is an ancient rock fortress and palace ruin in the central Matale District of Sri Lanka.
  • The Sigiriya Rock Fortress is a UNESCO World Heritage Site.
  • Sigiriya was built by King Kashyapa in (477 – 495 BC) and after the king’s death, it was used as a Buddhist monastery until the 14th century.
    It is surrounded by the remains of an extensive network of gardens, reservoirs, and other structures.
  • The rock consists of the famous frescoes (paintings), water and boulder gardens, the mirror wall and many other attractions.



  • The Dambulla Cave Temple is the largest and best preserved cave temple complex in Sri Lanka. The rock towers 160 m over the surrounding plains.
  • It is also known as the Golden Temple of Dambulla and is a World Heritage Site in Sri Lanka.
  • Dambulla is a UNESCO World Heritage Site.
  • There are more than 80 documented caves in the surrounding. Major attractions are spread over 5 caves, which contain statues and paintings. This paintings and statues are related to Lord Buddha and his life.
  • King Valagamba was exiled for 14 long years. However, once he returned to the throne at Anuradhapura kingdom in the 1st century BC, he had a magnificent rock temple built at Dambulla as a gratitude to the monks in Dambulla for keeping him safe during his exile.



  • The Ancient City of Polonnaruwa has been declared a UNESCO World Heritage Site.
  • The second most ancient of Sri Lanka’s kingdoms, Polonnaruwa was first declared the capital city by King Vijayabahu I, who defeated the Chola invaders in 1070 AD to reunite the country once more under a local leader.
  • It was his reign that is considered the Golden Age of Polonnaruwa, when trade and agriculture flourished under the patronage of the king, who was so adamant that no drop of water falling from the heavens was to be wasted, and each was to be used toward the development of the land.



  • Anuradhapura is one of the ancient capitals of Sri Lanka, famous for its well-preserved ruins of ancient Sri Lankan civilization.
  • The city, now is a UNESCO World Heritage Site, and is one of the oldest continuously inhabited cities in the world and one of the eight World Heritage Sites of Sri Lanka.
  • The ruins consist of three classes of buildings, dagobas, monastic buildings, and pokunas.
  • The dagobas are bell-shaped masses of masonry, varying from a few feet to over 1100 ft (340 m) in circumference. Some of them contain enough masonry to build a town for twenty-five thousand inhabitants.
  • Remains of the monastic buildings are to be found in every direction in the shape of raised stone platforms, foundations and stone pillars.
  • The pokunas are bathing-tanks or tanks for the supply of drinking water, which are scattered everywhere through the jungle.
  • The city also contains a sacred Bo-Tree, which is said to date back to the year 245 BC.



  • Kandy is home to The Temple of the Tooth Relic (Sri Dalada Maligawa), one of the most venerable places for the Buddhist community of Sri Lanka and all around the world.
  • It was declared a world heritage site by UNESCO in 1988.


  • Galle Fort, in the Bay of Galle on the southwest coast of Sri Lanka, was built first in 1588 by the Portuguese, then extensively fortified by the Dutch during the 17th century from 1649 onwards.
  • It is a historical, archaeological and architectural heritage monument, which even after more than 423 years maintains a polished appearance, due to extensive reconstruction work done by Archaeological Department of Sri Lanka.
  • Galle is the best example of a fortified city built by Europeans in south and southeast Asia, showing the interaction between European architectural styles and south Asian traditions.
  • The Galle fort is a UNESCO World Heritage Site and the largest remaining fortress in Asia built by European occupiers.



  • It is famous for its natural hot water wells (07 wells) and for the Koneswaram Hindu Temple.



  • Veddas or Veddhas, are an accorded indigenous people of Sri Lanka consisting of native communities such as Coast Veddas , Anuradhapura Veddas and Bintenne Veddas
  • The Ratnapura District, which is part of the Sabaragamuwa Province , is known to have been inhabited by the Veddas in the distant past.
  • Veddhas are still very much prominent and have their own language, way of life, methods of hunting, traditional medicine, burial methods and etc.



  • It is located on the west coast of the island and adjacent to Sri Jayewardenepura Kotte, the capital of Sri Lanka.
  • Colombo is often referred to as the capital of the country since, Sri Jayewardenepura Kotte is a satellite city of Colombo.
  • Colombo is a busy and vibrant city with a mixture of modern life and colonial buildings and ruins.
  • Colombo’s history comprises of three main era’s. Firstly, the Portuguese Era (beginning 1505), Secondly the Dutch Era (beginning 1638) and Finally the British Era in 1796.
  • There is also a good variety of shopping and night life activities available for the business travelers.